A Process View of SWOT Analysis


  • Kuang-cheng Wang


SWOT analysis, five elements theory, Chinese systems thinking, business policy, management


The aim of this paper is to enrich the SWOT analysis by utilizing the five change stages of process development: birth, growth, harvesting, storage, and transformation. Each quadrant of the matrix of the SWOT model could be represented by one stage and the phases between stages correspond to transformation. The five-change processes originate from phases of the seasonal life cycle based on the Chinese Ying-yang and five elements theory. This study tries to establish a plausible bridge between Western two-dimensioned quadruple categories (2 x 2 frameworks) and Chinese five elements. In addition, integrating the concept of business life cycle with the SWOT analysis provides the policy maker with a dynamic approach to effective strategies. Finally, the managerial implications of each stage are discussed from the perspective of Chinese five elements.

Author Biography

Kuang-cheng Wang

Doctoral Program, Graduate Institute of Business Administration, National Taipei University, Taipei, Taiwan, R.O.C. Lecturer, Business Management Department, Tatung University, Taipei, Taiwan, R.O.C.



How to Cite

Wang, K.- cheng. (2007). A Process View of SWOT Analysis. Proceedings of the 51st Annual Meeting of the ISSS - 2007, Tokyo, Japan, 51(2). Retrieved from https://journals.isss.org/index.php/proceedings51st/article/view/470



Systems Applications in Business and Industry